January 16, 2021


Dambela Blog

Congress confirms Biden’s election victory

3 min read

Pence annouces Biden as next President as Trump accepts defeat.

After what seemed like an uncertain day over President Trump mounting pressure on his Vice to overturn the election which he lost to his rival. Vice President Mike Pence on early Thursday, Jan 7, 2021, announced the election of President and Vice President as he officiates a joint session of the House and Senate to confirm Electoral College votes at the US Capitol.

The US Congress finally finalized President-elect Joe Biden’s election win early Thursday morning shortly after a tumultuous roit by Trump’s supporters who had stormed the Capitol, initially bringing the proceedings to a standstill and the building under siege for more than five hours.

After the act of violence perpetuated by a riotous mob on Wednesday afternoon the forced U.S. legislators who had been evacuated from the Capitol during the counting of the Electoral College votes in the presidential election returned to conclude the job of certifying the US Presidential elections.

The House and Senate both rejected Republican objections to the Electoral College count which were focused on Arizona’s votes and a second on Pennsylvania’s.

In the wake of the riot, several Republicans who had initially planned to block the formal recognition of Biden’s electoral victory, dropped their bids saying the violence had made them reconsider.

According to one of the senators, Loeffler who had just lost her runoff election on Tuesday to Democrat Raphael Warnock.
“The violence, the lawlessness and siege of the halls of Congress are abhorrent and stand as a direct attack on the very institution my objection was intended to protect: the sanctity of the American democratic process,” said Sen. Kelly Loeffler, a Georgia Republican who had planned to object to the Nov. 3 election results from her home state.

In the Senate, more than 90 senators voted against excluding Arizona and Pennsylvania’s vote certifications, but a half-dozen Republicans still voted in support of the move. Among them were Republican Senators. Ted Cruz of Texas, Josh Hawley of Missouri, Cindy Hyde-Smith of Mississippi, John Kennedy of Louisiana, Roger Marshall of Kansas and Tommy Tuberville of Alabama.

Sen. Marshall, a first term senator who was sworn in earlier this week also spoke. “I rise in hopes of improving the integrity of the ballot,” He however provided no evidence of fraud and no reason the state’s results should be rejected.

In the House, Many of the Republicans were more divided. More than 100 of the Lower chamber’s 211 GOP members had voted to support the objections, while 64 of their collegues joined the Democratic to defeat the votes.

According to some of the Republicans, they were not trying to overturn the election but rather were reflecting their constituents concerns about alleged fraud.

Many Republicans have slammed the objections and said Wednesday’s violence and riots showed the danger of such tactics by their collegues.

“We gather due to a selfish man’s injured pride, and the outrage of supporters who he has deliberately misinformed for the past two months,” said Sen. Mitt Romney, R-Utah

Romney a former 2012 GOP presidential candidate and a strong critic of the President called the attack on the Capitol “an insurrection incited by the president” and said those supporting Trump’s false claims would be judged harshly.

It will be recalled that Trump’s own appointees in the courts have dismissed his lawyers submissions based on the fact that there was no evidence to support his claims that the election was rigged against him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.
Translate »
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com